Gender versus Pronouns??

KaseyRouseKaseyRouse Posts: 14 ✭✭✭
Beer Expert First Compass Anniversary First Comment Name Dropper
edited December 2022 in Grants & Scholarships

Good afternoon!! I am new to the Foundant/Compass Community, and am looking forward to getting some great feedback!! Reviewing our scholarship application and wondering if everyone is using the term Gender on their applications or using Pronouns instead? What is best practice?

Thank you so much!

Kasey

Comments

• KaseyRouseKaseyRouse Posts: 14 ✭✭✭

@ElenaKeltz - this is a great idea! I like the idea of having this on the registration page - so there is the opportunity to share or not. And then having the additional question about gender, we too have some scholarships with certain requirements. Thank you for this information - this has been so helpful!!

Kasey

@DanaBerggren - thank you so much for this resource! I agree with the applicant knowing exactly why, what and who will be using and seeing their information. This is a great guide!! Thank you again!

Kasey

• We stopped using prefixes a few years ago and use first name for salutation. Our gender question is also on the profile as gender is a qualifier for some opportunities. We ask as follows:

You may qualify for certain scholarships based on your gender. Please select from the list below. This is an optional question. If you do not respond, you will not be eligible for the scholarships that have eligibility criteria based upon gender. You can select as many options as apply to you. 

Female

Male

Transgender

Non-Binary

Gender Non-Conforming

Something else

Do not wish to specify

• DanielleFleerDanielleFleer Posts: 17 ✭✭✭
    First Compass Anniversary Photogenic 5 Likes First Answer

Hi all,