Options

Who is coding nonprofits by sector AND by services provided?

Hello Foundant community,

I am fairly new to Foundant. When the time comes to tell a "story" about where your grants were allocated, what system do you use to pull the data? Do you code in c-suite and GLM? Do you have more than one field that allows for multiple codes per grant allowing you to filter by both sectors of nonprofits (i.e Arts, Human Services, Education) and service provided (food, housing, technology to support education or tele-health)? If anyone is interested in sharing experiences either here or over a phone call, I would love to connect. If this is something you are striving to do, I would also welcome the opportunity to connect and learn best practice together. Thank you!

Kate Clavijo

Pasadena Community Foundation

Comments

• Options
    AlyseBraatenAlyseBraaten Posts: 63 ✭✭✭
    Regional Training First Compass Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment

Hi Kate!

Many of our client will use GLM for the story telling type of coding that you're talking about. That's because you have more flexibility to determine your own coding categories in GLM. An important thing to remember is that your DAF grants don't, generally, live in GLM. So if you're wanting to do story telling reporting on DAF grants, we need to keep thinking.

I'm going to tag a few clients that may have thoughts on this topic to spark some more discussion here. In the mean time, this blog covers some data traps that we have all found ourselves in. https://resources.foundant.com/blog/data-traps

@TerraWinter @SarahLambert @JuanaBaribeau

Alyse Braaten | Manager of Client Services – Grants & Scholarships | www.foundant.com | Bozeman, MT

alyse.braaten@foundant.com | Direct: 406.922.3376 | Cell: 661.364.1012

• Options
    JuanaBaribeauJuanaBaribeau Posts: 16 ✭✭✭
    Summit 2024 First Compass Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment
    Answer ✓

Alyse, Thank you for tagging me in this conversation.