Change in Scholarship Criteria Due to Company Merger

We manage a scholarship fund that benefits children and grandchildren of a company that recently merged and no longer exists as the entity identified in the fund agreement.  Additionally, the newly-formed company announced the closure of the main facility, which will significantly narrow the applicant pool if the original criteria are maintained. Does anyone have experience navigating this type of situation? Did you continue to make awards for employees' relatives of the original company for a set period of time?

Laurie Abildso

Vice President

Your Community Foundation of North Central West Virginia, Inc.

Tagged:

Comments

• LynsieStephensLynsieStephens Posts: 40 ✭✭✭
    First Compass Anniversary Regional Training First Comment Photogenic

Hi Laurie! I'm a Solutions Engineer here at Foundant but prior to that I managed scholarships for The Dallas Foundation for many years. They have a scholarship specifically for children of employees of what was once a very large company. Due to downsizing, and eventually a big merger, the company has gone away while the fund still have a significant asset balance. We amended the eligibility requirements in the fund agreement to specifically define what we called "legacy employees", meaning any one who was an employee of the company during a certain time period, or up until a certain date.